A Court of Thorns and Roses – review of the book series

A Court of Thorns and Roses – review of the book series

A Court of Thorns and Roses is a juvenile fantasy saga written by the American author Sarah J. Maas. This is not going to be a normal review for several reasons:

  • The first three books form an initial trilogy that I read a couple of years ago but I never review waiting for the fourth to come out.
  • I have read the fourth book right now and I have discovered that it is, in some way, independent of the initial trilogy.
  • It is a series of books that is unfinished and whose fifth volume will come out next year.


The first trilogy

This story came to the author as a modern interpretation of Beauty and the Beast and, throughout the first book remains as such. A young woman is trapped in a manor house in which all its inhabitants are cursed and forced to wear masks and whose host becomes a beast when anger beholds him.

From this first idea, the story ended up evolving and becoming a complete magical world that I wouldn’t be surprised if it gave for a saga of at least ten books.

In this first trilogy the author narrates war, slavery and betrayal, shows the most important bonds of friendship and different types of love, from toxic relationships moved by obsession to the purest connection of the soul between two people.

In the background is a beautiful love story with sweet and delicate descriptions of sentimental and physical relationships.

The books that make up this trilogy are:

  • A Court of Thorns and Roses
  • A Court of Mist and Fury
  • A Court of Wings and Ruin


A Court of Frost and Starlight

This is the fourth book, in my opinion, a bridge between the first trilogy and the next one. I have to say that it is a book in which absolutely nothing happens.

It tells how the group of closest friends of the protagonists celebrate the winter solstice and that’s it.

More or less in the middle of the book I began to think that everything was actually a nightmare produced by Bryaxis and that this idyllic future had not really happened, that many of them had perished in the war against Hybern.



I want to make it clear that I am partly speaking trusting on my memory and that, although I remember the first three books, I am not able to recall all the details. Anyway I read that trilogy compulsively, hooked to the book irremediably. I liked it so much that I may reading it again. Even so, there are certain things that I didn’t like too much, for example that none of the initial and important characters, who were easily more than thirty, died in the final war. It just doesn’t seem realistic to me.

With regard to the last book, I read it in a couple of days but when it finished it left me empty, I expected something to happen.

Either way, Sarah J. Maas has an excellent pen. She is able to make you laugh and cry while you read because the conversations are so natural and the identification with the characters is so strong that you get irremediably into the story.

Also, throughout these four books she plays with your feelings in a cruel way. She makes you fall in love with characters that you will later hate and, later, you will pity, and hate others when, in the following chapters, you will fall at their feet.

Despite the small disappointment of the last book, I think it is one of the best sagas of youth fantasy that have been written lately and I’m dying to read the fourth book and see that interesting change of protagonists.


In short, I give a 4/5 to this initial part of the series and, although you have left your teenage years behind, I recommend you give it a try.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.